While the number of digital collections have been increased constantly and in diverse practices, there are some concerns regarding the relevancy and value of the efforts to expand, enhance, and sustain these collections to society at large.  These concerns call for discussions and exemplifications of how research efforts and practices on digital libraries improve the quality of human life in all dimensions, such as education, business, socialization, public administration, culture, and humanities.  In addition, these questions initiate quest to discover novel methodologies of producing, managing, analyzing, and storing digital collections as well as deliver state-of-the-art services in a complex, connected, and ever-changing environment that matter to our daily lives.  Therefore, the theme of ICADL 2017 is “Data, Information, and Knowledge for Digital Lives” which is open to all opportunities that illustrate how digital libraries, digital collections, and corresponding methods would lead to better lives.

The 19th International Conference on Asia-Pacific Digital Libraries (ICADL 2017) will be co-located with The 8th Asia-Pacific Conference on Library & Information Education and Practice (A-LIEP) Conference at Chulalongkorn University, Bangkok, Thailand under a collective title “International Forum on Data, Information, and Knowledge for Digital Lives”.  Hosting these conferences together in a heart of Bangkok would bring a diverse group of academic and professional community members from all parts of the world to exchange their cutting-edge knowledge, experience and practices in various relevant issues in digital libraries, and other related fields.


Program Committee Co-Chairs

Fabio Crestani, Universita’ della Svizzera Italiana, Lugano, Switzerland
Sally Jo Cunningham, Waikato University, New Zealand
Songphan Choemprayong, Chulalongkorn University, Thailand

Steering Committee Chair

Shigeo Sugimoto, University of Tsukuba, Japan

General Conference Chair

Pimrumpai Premsmit, Chulalongkorn University, Thailand

Workshop Chair

Marut Buranarach, National Electronics and Computer Technology Center, Thailand


Department of Library Science, Chulalongkorn University, Bangkok, Thailand

Maristella Agosti, University of Padua, Italy
Hugo Alatrista-Salas, Universidad del Pacífico, Peru
Marut Buranarach, National Electronics And Computer Technology Center, Thailand
Nisachol Chamnongsri, Suranaree University of Technology, Thailand
Youngok Choi, Catholic University of America, United States
Gobinda Chowdhury, Northumbria University, United Kingdom
Milena Dobreva, UCL Qatar, Doha, Qatar
Supol Durongwatana, Chulalongkorn University, Thailand
Nicola Ferro, University of Padua, Italy
Schubert Foo, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Edward Fox, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, United States
Dion Hoe-Lian Goh, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Jesús Vegas Hernández, Universidad de Valladolid, Spain
Annika Hinze, University of Waikato, New Zealand
Adam Jatowt, Kyoto University, Japan
Unmil Karadkar, University of Texas at Austin, United States
Hao Ren Ke, National Taiwan Normal University, Taiwan
Christopher Soo-Guan Khoo, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Monica Landoni, University of Lugano, Switzerland
Chern Li Liew, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand
Xia Lin, Drexel University, United States
Juan Antonio Lossio Ventura, University of Florida, United States
Akira Maeda, Ritsumeikan University, Japan
Stephane Marchand-Maillet, University of Geneva, Switzerland
Gary Marchionini, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, United States
Ida Mele, Università della Svizzera Italiana, Switzerland
Eva Méndez, University Carlos III of Madrid, Spain
Atsuyuki Morishima, University of Tsukuba, Japan
David Nichols, University of Waikato, New Zealand
Douglas Oard, University of Maryland, United States
Sanghee Oh, Chungnam National University, Korea
Nicola Orio, University of Padova, Italy
Suporn Pongnumkul, National Electronics And Computer Technology Center, Thailand
Edie Rasmussen, University of British Columbia, Canada
Andreas Rauber, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
Seamus Ross, University of Toronto, Canada
Shigeo Sugimoto, University of Tsukuba, Japan
Hussein Suleman, University of Cape Town, South Africa
Claire Timpany, University of Waikato, New Zealand
Pucktada Treeratpituk, Bank of Thailand, Thailand
Kulthida Tuamsuk, Khon Kaen University, Thailand
Feili Tu-Keefner, University of South Carolina, United States
Pertti Vakkari, University of Tampere, Finland
Nicholas Vanderschantz, University of Waikato, New Zealand
Kasturi Dewi Varathan, National University of Malaysia, Malaysia
Marcia Zeng, Kent State University, United States
Yan Zhang, University of Texas at Austin, United States
Maja Žumer, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia


All questions about submissions should be emailed to [email protected]